two years

Tomorrow marks the official day that I opened my Etsy shop , Soul Role.In fact it was the day the name for my new business came to me and I quickly went and signed up with it before someone else used that perfect business name 😉  It was actually a few weeks later that I began to put items in my shop.

(you can read my first blog post on the origins of my business name if you like)

https://soulrole.wordpress.com/2010/10/26/forty/

be here now

be here now

It is hard to believe that two years have passed since I embarked on this new chapter in my life.There has been a lot of change for me personally as well as in my family.Almost six years ago my husband was injured on the job and even after 3 surgeries,months of physical therapy and an excruciating battle with the work comp insurance company  he is unable to go back to his former career and has permanent disability.When I began my ‘little sewing business’ (as so many people like to call it)I was desperate to find a way to earn a living from home so I could still be available for my kids(my youngest was still too young for school). I live about 25 miles from town and between the cost of gas,childcare and the meager salary I could earn with a crappy minimum wage job I really could not afford to get a job in town but with my husband injured and out of work I had to do something.I had been doing a little bit of sewing for some local shops but from 1995 on my whole life had been making babies,feeding babies,and caring for children(not to mention moving onto raw land,living in a home while we were building it etc.). All of my creative energy went into the children and when I found Etsy I was finally at a place  in my life where I did not have a baby,wasn’t breastfeeding or pregnant and soon my youngest would be in school.My goal was to work my butt off for the next year and a half and see if I could actually turn all this pent up creative energy into a full time job at home.

my new cutting table!

Yeah for less kneeling on my floor to cut out fabric!

Two years ago I didn’t know ANYTHING about selling online(SEO..wasn’t that an 80’s band?Tags-sure,the things you hang on clothing,right?)I simultaneously learned everything I could about selling online while also perfecting my photography,networking..not to mention coming up with new designs,making samples,finding people to model just to name a few things!It has been a full on crash course and I have so much left to learn,especially on the business side,but I have been blown away by the support and appreciation people all over the world have shown for my business!Etsy has been a lifesaver to me in so many ways…I have re-discovered my creative roots and feel inspired every day by not only all the amazing artists and sellers on Etsy but also by the people who go out of their way to support small ethical businesses!

Last weekend I hit 600 sales which to me is just mind blowing.I am still not making enough to support my family of 6 but I am getting there.I am so grateful for Etsy for creating this amazing platform to reach customers around the world in a conscious and community oriented way.

Mahalo nui loa!

ps:

I will be announcing a give away tomorrow so stay tuned!

2 responses to “two years

  1. So happy for you mama. xoxo Love your clothes…I wear your stuff more than anything and feel like you are my personal seamstress.

  2. Congratulations! I’m super proud and happy for you (and the world!).

Leave a Reply

