Dwelling in the Present Moment

Dwelling in the Present Moment

Aloha Everyone
It’s been awhile!I promised a giveaway when I reached 1,000 sales and that milestone has come and gone and I still have not come through so here I am.Life has been as busy as ever,and I feel that I am at a crossroads in my business.I want to share some of what I have been feeling with those of you who have been such great supporters on my journey this past few years(and after I do I will post the details of my giveaway!).In 9 days it will be three years since my trip to Maui where I found the name for my new shop,and Soul Role was born.I have been amazed and humbled by the support and so happy to find that there are many many people out there who are willing to support handmade eco friendly work,even when it means they have to spend more.My shop has grown faster than I dreamed it would and now,going into my third year I feel I need to make some changes to support this growth.I have been doing all this work from my bedroom(aka studio) and I don’t know how much longer I can continue to do this.In order to be more efficient and to continue to produce work I can be proud of I need to upgrade my machines.I need space for all my materials,and space to spread out and give my visions room to breathe.And my husband need to be able to get into his closet!I would love to be able to have some help when my work load gets too big.I would love to be able to have an internship program with my children’s charter school and give some of the local kids here an opportunity to learn about designing,sewing and creating their own business.I would love to sell wholesale to the many many stores that have wanted to sell my line .I would love for local customers to be able to come and browse and have more ready made items available.All of the ways I need to grow as a business require an actual real studio,and without that I don’t know if I can continue.

I have been really looking at my business,and what I want and NEED to be doing in my life.I would love to continue to do this work that has helped me in more ways than I can say.I have looked for grants to help fund an off grid studio that we could build here on our land but there really don’t seem to be.I have never had a credit card in my entire life and have no credit history so banks would not want to loan me money.I have had many people suggest I do a Kickstarter campaign and I have been seriously thinking about doing this.I would love to know what people think about Kickstarter?Have you ever contributed to a campaign?Have you run one,or known someone who has?Would you help me to spread the word?I struggle to think of what kind of rewards I could offer and how that would work.Any ideas?

I have had friends who wanted to partner with me and have things made overseas,and I have really thought about that.I know people who have found ways to do it that are fair and ethical but that is not really what I want to create.I think there is a way to keep it local,and small and still make a living.

So that is where I am at with business!Now- onto the GIVEAWAY!!

To qualify to enter you must first be a fan on Facebook(leave your Facebook name in the comment here on the blog):

1.You need to leave a comment here on the blog post and share your thoughts on my direction.It doesn’t need to be elaborate 🙂 I really value the input.

2.You can get more entries by sharing this blog post(tag my Facebook page so I can see it!) and making sure whoever you have shared with let’s me know in their comment who brought them here!

3.You can get one MORE entry by going to my shop and finding your favorite item,share it on Facebook and makes sure to tag my Facebook page in your post so I see it.

I will be giving away your choice of the following:

Hemp/Organic Cotton Jersey Infinity Scarf in Lotus

Hemp/Organic Cotton Jersey Infinity Scarf in Lotus

Hemp/Organic Cotton Jersey Open End Scarf in Storm

Hemp/Organic Cotton Jersey Open End Scarf in Storm

Reversible Unisex Repurposed Organic Cotton/Soy/Spandex Jersey Hat

Reversible Unisex Repurposed Organic Cotton/Soy/Spandex Jersey Hat

organic cotton/hemp unisex hat

organic cotton/hemp unisex hat

be here now

be here now wall hanging made from repurposed hemp/organic cotton and bamboo from our land

Organic Cotton Sateen Floral Headband

Organic Cotton Sateen Floral Headband

Organic Cotton/Hemp Repurposed Fabric Bunny

Organic Cotton/Hemp Repurposed Fabric Bunny

The give away starts today and ends on October 18 at noon Hawaii Time!

Thank you again for all the love and support over the past years!I couldn’t have done it without you!

21 responses to “Dwelling in the Present Moment

  1. I’ve contributed to Kickstarter campaigns and I totally would for you.

    • Mahalo Sandy!You have been such a great friend to my business and so encouraging!Thanks for being such an inspiration to me,and an example of an empowered woman!you rock!

  2. I love giveaways, but even without the chance to win a prize, I wish you true success and cheer you on in your efforts to make a difference!

  3. Kickstarter, gofundme, and other pages like that are a fantastic way for small businesses to get a leg-up while allowing customers to feel even more connected to them at the same time. I think it would be a cool direction for your shop! You’d have to come up with a rather concrete goal (like, help me build _______), and you could offer some of the items you already make as reward. You could do low-level categories (“for $5 I’ll publish a link to the shop or cause of your choice on my facebook page!”) and higher-level ones (“for $1,000 you will receive a whole outfit! Leggings, skirt, top, & scarf – or whatever – in your choice of colors!”) pretty easily, and you’ve been doing so many cool scrap projects in between the big ones, those should fill in the middle really well.

    Well… turns out I had a lot to say, haha. Whatever you do, I wish you the best of luck!

    • Great suggestions Alice!You too have been so steadfast in your support over the years and I thank you from the bottom of my heart!All of my customers and supporters inspire me in so many ways!I feel blessed to have been able to connect with such a amazing people through my business!

  4. I love the idea of a crowdfunded campaign. Getting people on board with our mission and helping you with a goal is a great idea! You’ve come so far i just a few years that it’s easy for people to see your talents and to believe in your ability to take it to the next level. Wishing you the best as you find your path!

  5. No Facebook, but I’ll still leave a comment, just because. I have no suggestion, because your items are so diverse. Well, maybe that’s the suggestion! Take a look at what items take too much time for too little profit and cut them out.
    If you want to slow down business, quit using such great models who look so comfortable and HAPPY in your duds!
    Continued good luck.

    • Ha ha!If you don’t have a FB then I can let it slide 😉
      Love your comment!I am blessed with great happy healthy models who also love my work so their happiness is genuine 🙂 Working with my lovely friends/models is one of the best parts of this!
      I d have a very diverse shop..that was intentional in many ways..I envisioned a place where one could find many things they might need…you come for the skirt and then happen t see the perfect baby gift for your sister 🙂 It is a balance for sure though!
      Mahalo for your support!

  6. We are planning to do a http://www.gofundme.com campaign to purchase a laser engraver so we can do customer personalization on our wood boxes and rattles/shakers. We have heard great things about the crowd-sourcing and people do donate. I would absolutely promote & donate to your efforts!!! Keep your Eco Etsy Team in the know 🙂

    • Mahalo!!Keep us posted on your campaign…engraving would be so perfect for your work!I saw your tagged posts on FB as well!Blessings and thanks for all your support!

  7. Forgot to post our fb name: Earnest Efforts natural woodworking

  8. I think gofundme or kick starter is a good idea and yes I’ve contributed to a couple things before!
    What you are doing is awesome and I encourage you to keep growing with it!

  9. Hello from cold Switzerland! Kickstarter is a place I love to linger and watch some amazing projects blossom and often get “over-funded”. I did participate in 3 happy fundings. It is a really nice feeling to be taking part into something that we share beliefs with. It reminds me a bit of the “Carrot Mob” movement in some ways. I have never heard about the Gofundme site and will look into it to. I know that I am very much un-involved with our team for personal reasons linked to Etsy platform mostly, but I would completely follow you and support you into your crowd sourcing and campaign. Wishing you all the best to fulfill your upcoming urgent needs (internship / new studio, etc.).

    • Switzerland!I stopped off in Interlocken on a train from Italy to Amsterdam and never wanted to leave!So beautiful!I will have to google ‘carrot mob’..sounds intriguing!
      Mahalo for your support and encouragement!I love your work 🙂

  10. Aloha. I encourage you to deeply explore this desire of yours to nurture a “local” business and how you can create the change you want to see. IMO, Kickstarter really rewards innovative ideas. Food (and resource) Sovereignty is a major challenge in Hawai’i. Did you know that there is a native species of cotton in the islands called Ma’o? I don’t believe it has been farmed commercially since sugar became the king crop of the islands. Maybe it is time for that to change. Consider how local your business is if you are importing your raw materials overseas only to sell your finished product overseas (I assume that is your customer base). I know that this is a really large idea to digest, but in this time of reflection and introspection you have an opportunity to define what your true goals are in accordance with your values. Is it only to create a financial model to support you and your families livelihood? Or could it also be how can you create abundance and also be in service to your community and create resource wealth for generations to come? Best of luck to you!

  11. Congratulations on growing your biz so fast! I have donated to kick starter campaigns set up by non profit orgs for good causes. I would be up for helping – like a barn raising but not sure I would donate cash (for sure if I were rich). The US Small Business Association provides low interest loans to individuals just like yourself. A bank would not necessarily turn you down but you would need to make a business plan. The US SBA also offers low cost online class for making a business plan. Really helpful for figuring out financing options. Very exciting to have so many possibilities! Best wishes for your continued success! Hope you prosper!

  12. Soul Role,
    First off, I was immediately caught by the idea of your working with kids and giving them the experience of your work and running a business. I think that’s a fantastic idea! And who better to teach the kids about being earth friendly? You were born for this, I believe.
    Second. I’m fairly certain there are ways to keep up with production that won’t be using sweatshops or going outside the US to have the items made. Are there any local seamstresses who would be willing to split the profits if they helped you? What about local high school students who are considering fashion?
    Thirdly, of course I’ll help spread the word if a kickstarter is what you decide to do.
    Ultimately, it’s up to you where you take this. I love the idea of building an extension onto the property. Have you seen the video where the impoverished man lights his home using a single water bottle filled with a bit of bleach (to kill potential algea from growing)? You don’t need anything fancy for your Soul Role Studio. Just something to protect you, your customers and your products from the elements. It’s something you can continue to add to. It would be great, though, if what you built was large enough to house all your fabrics and finished products. Maybe this is what the kickstarter would be for.
    I’m interested to know, though, what you decide. It’s your road, as well as the road of your family, and you’re paving the way. I hope you’ll keep us updated?

  13. You have done an amazing job in 3 years since rebranding, obviously a great idea! I’ve also seen success w Kickstarter and the like. Sounds like you need to upgrade your machines, maybe start with that? What about offering discounts or gift cards in exchange? I have a friend who got a film funded on Kickstarter, and another who got a farm project in Puna partially funded on Indigogo, can put you in touch if you want.

    My only advise (with my 20/20 hindsight, ha ha) regarding business plans is keep it small, manageable, and within your personal control. If you love the sewing part, don’t farm the work out or you will spend your time managing other people. It may be challenging to do without credit, but you will find a better way and have way less stress. Rock on sistah!!

Leave a Reply

